Random Thoughts: My Pangasinan Vacation

In my previous post, I specifically said at the start that I am not going to make some sort of travelers’ review about the resort that we checked in during the last vacation but I must admit: I want to share something about that trip so I decided to do this series of posts and this is the first one.

How does this works? Well judging by the title, I will give seven thoughts that I have regarding a certain topic(s) I like to put here plus some other thoughts that aren’t necessarily numerable (is that a word?). There aren’t necessarily categorize (for now) but I believe you can distinguish the positives from the negativesOkay so here it is:

  1. Just like in every other part of the country,  it seems that a major road that is a named highway, road expansion is a thing. While it is a good thing especially since the influx of new cars into our roads in recent years, but for a highway (on Google Maps it is called Pangasinan-Tarlac Road but I believe it is a “named-from-a-person Highway” officially) where there is little road activity going on even during a weekday, I think that the expansion can held off for a few years as evident by, for now, the expanded lanes’ main purpose is to dry corns to become animal feed.
  2. The Agno River is so clean. It almost looks like an ocean! I am not a fan of river swimming but I think that if I only had one river that I’ve seen to swim into for the rest of my life, I will choose this one.
  3. As I mentioned previously, I personally don’t care about white sand beaches. The beach on that specific part of Lingayen is huge (in width terms) and untouched. Granted that it is a gray beach and I believe most part of it goes from shallow to deep in a matter of a meter but I’m shocked to see on the map that there is only one resort on the vicinity and that unlike other seaside cities, there a few houses and establishments by the beach. I think there is some potential for this area as an alternative beach area (Or better yet do they sell properties for those like me who wants a house by the beach?).

    blogg_02
    Can you see on the right image where those kubos are located? (Right image screen grab from Google Maps)
  4. As you can see from the right side of the picture above, the resort we stayed into has pools! One of them is a wave pool that is not deep so even the 10 year olds can enjoy it. The thing is that below those pools are the rooms of the resort and they are separated. You need to go out of the property, have tickets (when you checked in to the resort they will give you tickets)  and enter the pool area. Now I understand that the pool area is mostly for the daytime swimming crowd and caters predominantly to the local population but they could have had a separate entrance for those that are checked into the resort. (To be totally fair, the resort is seems to be in a re-planning of the area sort of thing so they might be sorting their layouts as of today).
  1. There is such a thing as the Hundred Islands Festival in Alaminos City that I believed started in 2012 (Be honest: have you really heard about it?).  We have to be rerouted so that we cannot be bothered by the traffic in the city proper (trust me we were not novices about being stuck in traffic). The only activity that I saw was a massive zumba session and I thought to myself “This seems to be unrelated to their supposed thing they are celebrating”. A quick glance of the activities on the internet confirms this to me.
  2. I guess in keeping up with the influx of tourists, the infrastructure and organization seems to be better than before (I went there last in 2013).  There is already an office to pay everything and not talk to as many bangkeros for the best deals (everything is now being payed equally on a per person basis), the life vests are now better (Thank God), and there are new things to do: There is now a floating bridge connecting Governor’s and Virgin Islands,  at least two zip lines (one on the previously mentioned two islands) and better cottages and gazebos for tourists plus Solar Panels to boot!
  3. There are also negatives from the sixth item namely that the cellphone reception seemed to be weakened, the amount of cement they use on the stairs, railings etc. destroying the natural formations of the rocks and on Quezon Island there is now a multi level canteen that produces a lot of trash that can be hard to deal with (Quezon Island is one of the farthest island and they have to be mindful of where to put their trashes) . Plus the shower area on the mainland is still the same old mess with longer lines.

And now for the mini random ones:

  • How few are the vehicles in that area of Pangasinan? even that one massive bridge repair in Lingayen is not causing any traffic on a Friday.
  • My specific line of work is very evident in there (Ang daming ebidensiya).
  • I was not happy when the resort gave me a three-in-one coffee: I was expecting something more black and not in a sachet that I can just buy from convenience stores and still be cheaper.
  • I was trying to do something really cool using my phone but the end result was bad (maybe next time).
  • We weren’t able to do snorkeling properly because of very strong winds.
  • There is a hokage moment (how very 2016!) that we saw in Lopez Island. What’s more funny is that somebody from one of the boats passing by, decide to shout out loud HOKAGE MOVES!” and everybody end up laughing. (Those persons in question were foreigners: German I believe).
  • When you cannot find local restaurants, Fast Foods are your way to go.
  • We randomly ate balut at Mangatarem, Pangasinan.

Well, that was fun! I hope this “Seven Random Thoughts” will become a mainstay in here. Until next time ! Ciao!

-_-

 

2 thoughts on “Random Thoughts: My Pangasinan Vacation”

Leave a Reply

